Saturday, December 22, 2012

ACM Turing Award

The ACM A.M. Turing Award is an annual prize given by the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM).

It is often referred to as the Nobel Prize of computer science.

It is awarded for outstanding contributions in computer science. 

The award is named after Alan Turing, mathematician and reader in mathematics at the University of Manchester.

Robert Kahn and Vint Cerf received the A.M. Turing award in 2005 for their design of IP (internet Protocol).

Rivest Shamir and Adleman also received the Award in 2002 for making public-key cryptography useful in practice.

As of 2007, the award is accompanied by a prize of $250,000, with financial support provided by Intel and Google.

1 comment:

  1. I read this article, it is really informative one. Your way of writing and making things clear is very impressive. Thanking you for such an informative article.Online Bidding Platform for Machinery Auction